I am kaitco

a writer's log

14 Months and 5 Edits Later Thursday, May 16, 2013

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 9:32 am
Tags: , , ,

So, I attempted to post something yesterday, but I hate just posting for the sake of posting. The good thing is that I’ve actually got something worth capturing today.

I finished a “final edit” of Damen, meaning that outside of anything that irks me as mind-blowingly wrong when I read through this twice more to catch missing words, grammar issues, etc. this book is as done as it can get.

The current word count is just shy of 122k at 121,944. I highly doubt I’ll find 2000 extra words somewhere in the text to excise, so that’s probably the best that I can do. The rest of this month will surround reading the whole book twice, or even thrice more.

I do something a little odd with regard to my paragraph indentations as I write. For some reason, my brain doesn’t switch into “write” mode unless I’ve got the first line of a paragraph flush with the margin and the remaining lines indented as below shown.

20130516-092658.jpg

I’m not entirely sure why I can’t really tell my brain to write, not read without the proper indentations, but it is what it is.

So, I’ll need to read through the book at least once with its current indentation and once with the indented paragraphs of a normal book. If I’m feeling really good about it, perhaps, I’ll Kindle-ize it (yep, that’s a word now) and read it as if it really is a normal book before I begin the agent search.

As strange as it might sound, this point in the process is feeling a little anti-climatic. I don’t know if I was expecting resounding horns and bells or something, but I think all the overabundant joy I had March 18, 2012 melted away once I realized that since no first time author gets published at 290k words, I had a good year’s worth of work ahead of me.

Maybe at this juncture, I’m sensing another year’s worth of agent searching and a lot of disappointment/rejection as I work towards my dream.

I suppose it could be worse. I could have given up on all my writing dreams and settled on “good enough,” but…This is my one and only life (as far as I know) and the last thing I want is to always wonder “What if…” What if I had kept writing? What if I had kept pushing towards my dream?

I don’t want to become the next Rowling or another King at this point. I just want to be a simply published author who can do what she loves.

And so, as I’ve got another two read-throughs of this book to do before I finally start Part 4 of this journey, I suppose I’d better get started. Onward and upward!

 

Leave a Reply

