I am kaitco

a writer's log

Think, Breathe, Live Thursday, August 16, 2012

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’m re-reviewing Chapter 11 and the novel is down to 165K words.

As I wind down to my birthday, my latest completion date, I think it’s time to put aside almost all other priorities to just get this thing done. I don’t even want to name all the other things I’ve got going on right now. I just need to think, breathe and live this novel for the next 6 weeks.

When I get up in the morning, work on the novel. During my lunch break (when I get one), work on the novel. When I come home from first-job, work on the novel.

It’s been more than 4 years since I’ve last been able to push away from my desk confidant that my novel was, once and for all, done and I long to revel in that sensation again.

I’ve been so close for probably the last 18 months, which, to be honest, may be the only reason why I’ve continued pushing forward, but this time I’m actually close to being done. It’s not even about the final word count anymore. It’s just being able to hold up my book (on a thumb drive, of course) and know that it’s complete; that I can have other people read what I’ve written without having to make excuses for missing words or a page full of run-on sentences.

I’m so close.

 

Leave a Reply

