I am kaitco

a writer's log

In the saddle Monday, August 6, 2012

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 11:47 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’d intended on writing these posts at the start of every day, but I’m finding that I like them more as a moment to reflect on what I’ve done for the day. It’s far preferable to letting yesterday’s thoughts impede upon today’s actions, so while I was desperate to avoid my near-midnight scramble every evening, I’m back to what works best for me.

Today I started to wrestle with Chapter 4 of Damen and I’ve found it to be quite a difficult sparring partner. It reminds me of when I used to take karate classes in college where, once a month, we’d have to spar with each of the masters, one by one in a long line. By the time I’d faced each of them, I was wondering why I was paying these people to pummel me. No one is getting paid as Chapter 4 and I fight, but I’m starting wonder if I’ll wake tomorrow with those same old bruises.

Somehow I’ll have to force 6300 words to become 3200 words and with this chapter setting the stage for the meat of the novel, this fight is shaping up to go at least 10 more rounds before I’m satisfied. The main thing, however, is that I’m shuffling into a routine once more, which is what I need to be successful.

Today was successful. It’s not that I got done everything I’d wanted; I hadn’t even made a list. I measure success by just doing better than the previous day and seeing as how I’d not done any real writing in a few days, but I did some today, I’ll still mark the 6th of August 2012 as successful. I’ve successfully jumped back into my saddle.

…now, if only I had some duct tape to keep me up there.

 

Leave a Reply

