I am kaitco

a writer's log

What’s boredom? Thursday, August 2, 2012

Filed under: Dorienne,Writing — kaitco @ 11:29 am
Tags: , , ,

Last night, I had an interesting epiphany.

Since I’m determined to stay true to my fasting this month, I came home from work and, after reading through multiple Twitter trending topics and catching up on all webcomics, I found myself at an hour and a half before “bedtime” asking myself “Hm…what am I going to do for the next hour?” I can’t remember the last time I’ve ever thought this.

Of course, after just a few minutes’ pondering, I came up with a half dozen activities, but it just struck me about how much time I’ve spent playing just one game. My normal action would have been to fire up Minecraft or go forage from some fast food since “eat something” was among those half dozen activities, but without either to sate my evening, I was left to wonder how to occupy my time.

It’s just fascinating to me that I couldn’t see what my routine was doing to me until I’d forced myself to step away from it. Perhaps, if this is even mildly successful (I see myself caving by next Saturday), I may just do this every other month to give myself a fresh outlook on anything.

As far as my writing is concerned, all I can really say is “it’s coming along.” I’m not really sure where the book is anymore. I’d hoped that making summaries of all the chapters would help me figure out what needed to get cut or moved around, but I still haven’t had that breakthrough yet. I’m up to reviewing Chapter 23 and, despite the length of the chapter, there’s so very little that I want to cut.

I’m trying not to get discouraged on the writing end, but when things turn even more difficult than I could have possibly imagined, it’s hard not to feel like a failure for not planning properly.

 

Leave a Reply

