I am kaitco

a writer's log

A vacation Saturday, July 7, 2012

Filed under: Dorienne,Writing — kaitco @ 11:49 pm
Tags: , , ,

Between spotty power and even spottier Internet service for the past few days, I’ve used this week as an overall vacation from my second job. Everyone needs a vacation right?

Aside from wondering if it was possible for my skin to actually catch fire in these multiple 100-degree days, I’ve been reading a little. I started my umpteenth re-read of Persuasion, officially began my first read of Pride and Prejudice and continued with Darth Bane: Rule of Two. Whether I’m reading Austen or Star Wars books, I still feel like a geek when I read a lot; a proud geek, that is.

Being on “vacation” this week, I’ve not kept to any specific schedule with regard to this edit, but I’ve been able to cut about a thousand words from the first 3 chapters. At this rate, however, I’ll maybe get it down another 13K, if that, which means I’ve got to take another approach at this.

I’ll finish up the fourth chapter this evening since I’m already in the middle of it, but I think I’ll just sit and scan through the entirety of the book tomorrow and list all the “events” of each chapter as if I’m writing my own SparkNotes entry. This way, I can quickly determine which parts are superfluous and make large, but poignant cuts in proper places, rather than keep reading and reading only to trim a word or two from every other paragraph.

At this point in the book, it’s not the prose that’s causing the length, but portions of the story that have got to go. As my short term memory is notoriously shot, the only way I’ll be able to make this edit a success is to completely change the way I’m editing. I suppose that old saying holds true in that if I continue to do the same thing over and over, I’ll never get different results. Expecting different results from that is also a sign of insanity, says Einstein…but that’s a subject for a different post.

 

Leave a Reply

