I am kaitco

a writer's log

30-Day 5K – Day Twenty-Eight Thursday, June 28, 2012

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 12:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

I think I know why completing this edit feels so anti-climatic. I know and have known for quite some time that this is not the end. Unlike March 18, 2008 at 11:24pm, I know I’m not “done.” There’s more to do; loads more.

But, before I dwell on all the things that are left to do, I’ll focus on what has been done.

On Thursday June 28, 2012 at 4:07am, three months and ten days after completing the book, I finished my first edit of Damen.

On December 31, 2011, I had sat down and wrote a note to myself titled “My New Year’s Resolution, Version 27.2012.” Apart from losing weight and going to church every week, the number one item on the list was “Finish the damn novel (it’s been four years already).” I can’t say much for the other four items on the list (though, I’ve been on my best church attendance streak since I was first saved), but I can at least say that it’s possible that I may achieve this goal this year.

A primary edit of Damen is complete and that, regardless if there is a secondary or tertiary or quaternary edit to follow, is an accomplishment!

Since next week is the Fourth of July and I’ve got a day off in the middle of the week, I may save my Downton Abbey/Minecraft marathon for then, but now I can just revel in an achievement achieved for a brief time.

 

Leave a Reply

