I am kaitco

a writer's log

30-Day 5K – Day Twenty-Two Friday, June 22, 2012

Filed under: Dorienne,Writing — kaitco @ 11:19 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I feel as if I’m running the 1600m in high school track and I’ve just passed the last 400m marker, signalling my last lap around the track. I know I’ve got just a little bit farther to go, but sprinting that last 400m makes your heart feel like it’s going to explode when you’re so tired from the previous three laps.

I wrote 5614 and I’m there…or just really ready to be “there.” These are the last bits of the book and with such short chapters remaining, it’s just a matter of putting one foot in front of the other to get back to the finish line.

I’m not even worried about needing to complete another massive edit of the novel. That’s a race in a track meet weeks away from now! I’ve just got to focus and not give up on this last lap. Maybe if I just keep repeating that, I’ll finish like I did in those high school track meets. I might come in dead last and look half dead when I cross the finish line, but not many people can say they’ve nearly sprinted a mile and not many people can say they’ve finished and edited their own book, either.

 

Leave a Reply

