I am kaitco

a writer's log

30-Day 5K – Day One Friday, June 1, 2012

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 11:51 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I can’t believe I was actually able to do this today. I fully anticipated that I might get through 2 or possible 3 thousand words, but I was actually able to push through 5700 words this evening. It makes me proud to see that with just a little bit of a push, I can get so much accomplished. Mind you, it’s far easier to re-write and edit 5700 than to write that from scratch, but considering that I’ve got to pause and rub my wrist every two dozen words, I suppose it evens out in the end.

As I push through this edit, it’s becoming glaringly obvious that I may not be able to squeeze this under 120K words before I get to the last chapter. I’m currently down to 203K which, while down from 288K and a vast improvement with still half the novel to go, is still not as thin as I need it to be. Still…if someone told me in February that I’d have the novel done in March and have it cut by almost 30% by the first of June, I’d have called you a bold-faced liar.

So, anyway, cheers to me for getting this month off to a great start. I won’t ignore that I promised myself a single episode of Downton Abbey every night that I meet my goal, with two episodes if I manage to finish more than one chapter in a night, but whatever works.

Edit: Since I’m back to counting daily word count again, I think I’d better start including where I ended each day again (until they arrived at the house) to keep me honest.

 

Leave a Reply

