I am kaitco

a writer's log

Upper Middle Right Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — kaitco @ 12:10 am

Something is wrong my Sims 2 game. When I consider how much time and effort I’ve put into this game over the last decade, this is a horrifying thought. I spent a long time today browsing through all the new things added by the new expansions and stuff packs and then spent close to an hour creating this really beautiful sim, but then screwed up and made her married to the person I’d intended to be her mother. I then tried to use this program I’ve used forever called SimPE to fix her and found that my game won’t save any more. I don’t need to use this program very often anymore, but still…the thought of it is very unnerving. I may need to do an overhaul of the game. Of course, this means I got nothing else done today, but considering I’ve got a decade’s worth of characters about to go up in smoke, I’m able to think of much else.

I will say this, however: I’m proud of my state today. I voted yesterday which was a complete necessity when I consider that I hadn’t voted for the first time last May, the first time I neglected to vote in seven years. The ballot included an amendment to ensure that, at least in our state, the people would not be subjected to the unconstitutional dealings of our current president and the left-leaning Supreme Court.

Many times, I feel myself wandering in between the two main parties of my country because one side makes so little sense most of the time and the other side confuses me often. I say that I’m a Republican if I’m forced to put a label on myself, but I don’t really think that I am. I am, as my hero often says, a Conservative. I don’t like the kinds of restrictions that being liberal imposes, as backward as the conventional thinking may infer of that statement. I don’t like anything in our government that tells me what I can and cannot do with my own time and money or how I live my life. If I want to pay pennies on the dollar for insurance and then come out of pocket when necessary, then that’s what I’ll do. If I don’t want insurance at all, then I don’t want anyone forcing me to purchase it.

On the other hand, net neutrality is a major concern for me and not just because I use my Internet connection as my lifeline to the world or torrent on occasion. I understand that rules governing the Internet is somehow backed by the Republican party, but it just sounds so unconservative to me. Why is that conservatives don’t want the government pushing insurance or limitations on what we watch or eat, but they definitely want the government to control the Internet? It’s totally backwards and makes little sense and, since I’m a conservative who thinks government control can only limit my life, why on Earth would I, or any true conservative, want something like the net neutrality rules to pass under the guise of a free market? Anyone with a few brain cells can see that the rules are backed by the MPAA and the RIAA to reduce piracy, not to actually free up the market and make the Internet a free playground of innovation.

Like I said, I’m a Conservative, but I’m not entirely sure I’m a Republican.

 

Leave a Reply

