I am kaitco

a writer's log

Distractions Sunday, September 4, 2011

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 10:28 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I learned today that I’ve lost the ability to focus and write in any situation. I can either write against a music backdrop and I can write against the white noise of the hum of my laptop and the crickets outside (hopefully) my window, but I can no longer write, pause my thoughts when someone speaks to me and then pick up once again.

I wrote a huge chunk of Flight in this manner while in my first year at first-job. I’d write a little, pause when I needed to and then go right back to where I was, sometimes in mid-word. I’ve become spoiled with my small bits of free time and have lost a treasured talent in the process.

I’m not sure how I’ll go about getting it back since now, when faced with constant interruptions, I grow more and more irritable until I can write freely, but I think it’s worth mentioning that this part of the craft has clearly abandoned me.

I wrote 591 words today (he said and he turned away from her.) and I’ve got more notes to complete to finish this particular part of the scene, but I think I’ll leave well enough alone and just be happy with my almost-600 and the fact that I did study the bible prior I started to write.

 

Leave a Reply

