I am kaitco

a writer's log

Even later Monday, July 4, 2011

Filed under: Dorienne,Writing — kaitco @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So the power went out last night and I didn’t get to do what I wanted. Still this feels like the day previous, so I’m going to treat it as such since I wrote this post yesterday, but wanting to save my iPhone in case the outage lasted all night, I’m posting now.

There is a Somalian woman who cleans the trash bins on the floor of the building at first-job. She knows minimal English and our conversations are never more than a “How are you?” each day, but every once in a while, we can manage a little.

I know she has children and she wants to learn enough English so that she can go to college just like I know that she works seven days a week and prays multiple times a day in a quiet corner in the stairwell.

The other day this woman and I were discussing Independence Day and she mentioned to me how July 4th got its importance in 1776. She smiled when she said this and told me that she had to memorize this for her citizenship test.

I saw her several times this weekend and we said our normal “How are yous” but I doubt I’ll ever forget that smile on her face as she stated that independence was in 1776. I’m not sure why, but in that moment especially, I was very, very proud to be an American.

I wrote 390 words today (when church was dismissed for the day) and even though I have long-since been an Anglophile and my subconscious “sounds” British to the point that I often forget and have to “Americanize” my characters’ dialogue and my favorite films are British and my most loved characters are British…still, I’m quite proud that I’m an American.

 

Leave a Reply

