I am kaitco

a writer's log

Are We the Waiting? Monday, May 30, 2011

by Green Day ~ American Idiot

My mind’s a little rattled lately given that I’ve watched nothing but Frasier for Lord knows how many weeks now and have listened to little else outside of Green Day for the past couple weeks as I’ve played through their Rock Band as if my life depended on it. Between watching all of Frasier Season 4 and playing through several more achievements on Green Day Rock Band, I’m quite surprised I managed to write anything at all today, considering that I’ve done nothing at all productive the entire day weekend.

I’ve got an amazing amount of first-job work still left to do tonight and I’m starting to get a little tired and I’m really not in the mood to do any of it and I’m kind of depressing myself just thinking about it further, but alas, such is life.

It is, however, the end of the month which means it’s time again for me to set some realistic goal to which I can strive to attain for the month, thus taking another a step towards becoming a better person. I’ve successfully written in this blog every day for the past 5 months and I’ve written my novel every day for the past 4 months, but I’ve not managed to adhere to any new goals since then.

I think, taking a page from my old LiveJournal, that I’m going to place a new importance on music. If I can spend an entire day playing Rock Band, I can at least find 15 minutes in a day to play the piano, especially now that I’m paying for lessons.

Under the same guise that got me to stop spending hours of my life on random Internet forums (every word written on a forum is one word not written in my novel), I’m going to fall back to the old edict of every song played in Rock Band is song I’m not practicing the piano. I know I probably won’t stop playing Rock Band the way I stopped forum-hopping cold turkey, but I will at least be conscious of the fact that if I can play Rock Band, I should also play the piano.

I wrote 938 words tonight (back home. As he passed). I could have written more, but with all my neglected first-job work looming overhead, I’m just not in the right mindset to do anything more this evening. Perhaps tomorrow will bring some of the peace for which I yearn so greatly. Perhaps…

 

Leave a Reply

