I am kaitco

a writer's log

My new car! Friday, April 29, 2011

Filed under: Dorienne,Writing — kaitco @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

As I said iAuto, I bought a “new” car and tonight, I got to drive it for the first time.

I’m so ridiculously excited by it that I could cry and I feel so blessed by the events that have transpired so that I could get that I think may actually tear up by the end of this post…(too late).

I wrote 321 words tonight (Looks like you love it…a lot) and I could and should write more, but I’m too excited by my car to think of anything else.

The most fascinating thing about it is when I first saw pictures of it on Wednesday. I kept pulling up the e-mail and gazing at the images and imagined myself sitting in it, getting it and loving it. What I really daydreamed about, however, is driving it for the first time. I wanted to have a CD ready to pop into the player and listen to classic music while feeling very grown and sophisticated as I drove. In my excitement to go get it tonight, I hadn’t burned my CD (though I think I really would have struggled with this…I don’t even know if I even have blank CDs) and was a little bummed that I could not have my first “classical” drive.

When I got the car, I saw that it had no gas left in it, so I was traveling down this lonely road with my cousin trailing behind me looking for a gas station and when I finally found one, I sat at one of the stations just reveling in my vehicle. I then started to mess with the radio a little and, out of curiosity, I checked each of the preset stations to see what some previous driver had added. Since it was dark and I wasn’t entirely sure what I was doing yet, I clicked on one station preset and then clicked another button thinking it was the next preset. Turns out, it was the “channel up” button which went to the next clear station…which turned out to be an all classical station. 🙂

I plan to add this as a preset first thing in the morning (as soon as I get on the temp tags), but tonight, I got to live my little dream and have my first drive of my car while listening to classical music the whole drive.

I’m so blessed and I know I cannot thank God enough for all the blessings He’s given me just today, if not throughout this entire month and my whole life! I’ve wanted a little Honda Civic for at least the last 18 months and now I have one. I wanted a brand new one with a sunroof, a no-glare rear-view mirror, a remote start and in a colour that was different from the Civics that my neighbors on either side of me have, but I just needed a newer car to get me out of the one I was driving. God let me have a 2009 Civic with just 23K miles with a sunroof, in a “unique” colour and still even has it’s new-car smell. 🙂

For the past few months, I’ve been in a right depression from wanting and wanting and wanting and feeling as if nothing will ever change or ever happen for the better, but in one month, I know where I stand with first-job and I have a new car.

I don’t say this often enough, but tonight, I’m really, really happy.

 

Leave a Reply

