I am kaitco

a writer's log

Anytime Thursday, March 31, 2011

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 11:07 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

by Brian McKnight – MTV, The First 1000 Years: R&B

I haven’t really got anything significant to say this evening and I’m feeling kind of blank. I will say that in many ways writing has become more of a chore than something I’m truly enthused about doing lately.

I know that everyday, I have to write. I don’t have a choice. At this point, it seems as if the world could collapse upon itself if I didn’t write at least 250 words in a single day and I know I’m in need of a long break. The problem with breaks, however, is that I’ve been breaking for much of the past three years when it comes to this book, which is why it is April 2011 and I’m still trying to complete my first draft. What’s even scarier about breaks is that I wrote Flight in barely a third of the time and it was twice as long.

I wrote 306 words tonight (same height as he heard in the lunchroom.) and, though I’m just chugging along as I go further into Chapter 14, I’ve got to keep pressing.

I’m in severe need of a break from writing. Writing in this blog, writing this novel, writing at first-job, writing anything. But…I’m not going to take one.

As I came to the conclusion today that writing had become more of a chore, I also remembered that this is the only life I’ve got and I’ll have all of eternity to break and rest. This time and this life is for work and my work in my writing.

 

Leave a Reply

