I am kaitco

a writer's log

Chapter 14 Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This last chapter kind of sneaked up on me over these past few days. I guess I didn’t register how much was written while I was simply writing from goal to goal each day, but I surprised myself by completing Chapter 13 tonight.

It feels like I’ve awakened from a long dream in terms of writing. I’ve been writing this scene where Damen remembers an incident with his mother for days and days and I’ve grown so accustomed to writing such terse, abbreviated first person prose that writing “real” prose feels like coming back to reality again.

In coming upon a new chapter, I’ve realized two things: 1) I’ve got a ridiculous amount of cutting ahead of me 2) I’ve got to nail down what Angel’s drug of choice is before I go further. I’m leaning towards heroin at this point, but because I’m not drug savvy, I’m not sure what else there is. At one point, I wanted her to also have done crack, but a part of me feels like she’s so much better than crack…as if I would know either way.

I don’t know what I’m going to use to keep me going tomorrow as I plan to spend a minimum of 12 hours at first-job tomorrow and possible into 13 hours. I’ll definitely fit in my 250 words in the morning and plan to post briefly from there, but if I don’t pull a few all-nighters, I’ll be there on Sundays again, which is the last thing I want.

I wrote 308 words tonight (during the brief moments Angel was awake) and I thank God that I could get them considering all I’m trying to accomplish this evening. On to tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

