I am kaitco

a writer's log

Priorities Sunday, March 6, 2011

I have got to get my priorities straight…one of these days…said the procrastinator.

I left church early to finish the work I didn’t do this week and then spent the rest of the evening researching different Rock Band games and downloadable songs I plan to purchase. If I had put forth even half that effort into making stronger notes as I lead into a new part of this chapter or just doing my laundry, I know I would feel far better than I do right now.

I don’t like what I’m writing right now and I have no one to blame but myself since only my poor decisions have brought me to this point. Even now, I continue to make poor choices. I planned to buy Rock Band 2 and 3 tomorrow and have a little “rock out” session of my own since I took the day off on Tuesday, but what I really need to do is housework and Dorienne-work to get my mind back together. And still…I have yet to make up my mind about what I’ll ultimately do.

I want to do the right thing, but I fear I’ll end up doing the easy thing to appease the instant-gratification monster that lurks in all 20-somethings.

Perhaps it is just the soaring headache I’ve got right now or maybe its my fear of going to the doctor tomorrow manifesting itself in an odd manner, but I can’t seem to get my priorities straight, even when it seems like a no-brainer.

I’m telling myself – as I write – that I should make some more notes in Chapter 12 to ease into a little better or re-write some of the drivel I’ve created this past week just to get to 250 words each night (not unlike the 335 words I wrote tonight {allowing Damen to step out of the house at nearly a run}), but I’d much rather be lazy and not think for the rest of the night.

Decisions…decisions…

 

Leave a Reply

