I am kaitco

a writer's log

Nine chapters in four months Tuesday, March 1, 2011

I finished Chapter 11 and wrote 1166 words tonight (cuz i finshd d gray c u 2mrrw).

I had made a stop to Bath and Body Works this evening and, since I always park near where the Gamestop is at the mall, I couldn’t help but stop a moment and came out with the first Rock Band game, which enabled me to cross another item off the “Stuff I Want” list. Game in hand, I desired nothing more than to come home and play.

Instead of going straight home to play my game, I remembered that I was nearly out of my daily steamer meals that I eat for lunch and since time has taught me that the moment I run out of food, I run straight for the junk in the cafeteria, I did the adult thing and went grocery shopping.

After shopping for only what I needed, I went home and even played an iPhone game for ten minutes, before putting away all my groceries and admiring my new BBW purchases, all with the full intent of playing Rock Band for the rest of the evening. There was just one caveat tonight…I knew I had to make a post before midnight.

Any other night like tonight, where I went about my life, pretending to be an adult, it would not have mattered if I was seven words from completing the chapter, everything else that happened this evening would have taken over my mind and kept me from writing. I would have spent too long in the grocery store making plans to cook all these recipes that I would never get around to making or gone to Macy’s as well and dropped another 2-400 on stuff I don’t really need or bought three or four games that I had perused, but hadn’t put on the list and then gone home to play all of them well into the night. I had so many viable distractions tonight and yet…I finished Chapter 11.

I’ve heard it said that it takes 21 days to make a habit and I’ve proven that wrong many, many times as I get to day 23 or 25 and completely lose it. With this blog, however, I’ve grounded myself into something that keeps me accountable to me and the progress I’ve made just astounds me.

I completed “the heavy notes” for Damen just after my birthday in 2009 and I spent the vast majority of 2010 trying to accomplish what seemed fairly simple at the time; just write. But, I went from October 2009 through November 2010 with only getting through 3.5 chapters of the whole book. I look back on the progress I’ve made since December 2010 and I smile…wide.

I’ve completed nine chapters in four months, when it took me more than nine months to get to four chapters last year. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: This blog keeps me honest.

 

Leave a Reply

