I am kaitco

a writer's log

Contraction Thursday, January 27, 2011

Filed under: Writing — kaitco @ 11:48 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Unless I’m in the midst of a ton of dialogue, I rarely break into a contraction while writing prose. Not at this stage in the game, at least. Perhaps in the “heavy notes,” but even then I’ve weeded out most of them.

I’m not sure if it was the cold, the hunger or the urge to finish this chapter, which I’ll probably do later tonight, but a contraction in prose just came out of me. She didn’t finish the sentence. What’s wrong with me??

Anyway, I’m proud that I got to this early for once and even prouder that 27 days have passed and I’ve got 27 posts to show for it. Again, I’ll say it: This blog keeps me honest.

I can’t remember a time in Dorienne history when I’ve ever torn myself away from anything as warm and comfy as “Arrested Development” on the sofa with Reese’s puffs to munch on within an arm’s reach to go all the way upstairs to not just make a post, but make a post and write and, yet, for the past few days, I’ve managed it.

I’ve faced deadlines of epic proportion and risked my status at school to continue with current methods of procrastination, but this blog keeps me honest.

Tonight, I came home from work late and made the conscious decision to write and post before I settled onto “Fullmetal Alchemist” via Netflix and this bean-salsa creation. That’s got to count for something.

I wrote 346 words tonight (source of the flavor that filled the air) and while it’s nothing special, it keeps me happy. I don’t think I’ll finish this chapter tonight, but I’ll probably finish it tomorrow or possibly Saturday (hopefully tomorrow) and that’s good enough for me. In the past two months, I’ve gained more ground in Damen than I have at any point in the past three years. I’m driven, I’m determined and I’ve finally found a catalyst for continued writing: Purely egotistical, self-indulgent posts! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

