I am kaitco

a writer's log

Sleep Sunday, December 19, 2010

Filed under: Dorienne,Favorite — kaitco @ 10:29 am
Tags: , ,

I don’t think I wrote anything at all yesterday; blogging, novelling or otherwise. I really needed the break.

I have been down lately. I’m not sure if it’s because of the weather, the cold house, my frustrations of working on a novel for now 3 years without having a complete project, the wall I’ve hit with my first job or just the lack of sleep.

What’s interesting though, as I started to write this, I turned off “The Simpsons” and turned on my music. As I started writing about my frustrations, what song unpaused in the queue: “Ooh Child” by Valerie Carter. The words, “Ooh child…things are gonna get easier.” just made me smile because I really, really, really needed to hear that this morning. This isn’t the first time this has happened to me either.

Anyway, I turned on my electric blanket last night and fell asleep around 11 o’clock and slept through the night. I’m not sure if it was the sleep or the break or sending out my resume a bit yesterday, but I’m feeling much better today.

Sometimes, between the lack of proper sleep and the first job frustrations (I interviewed someone on Friday who looked at me like I was stupid for asking for a time when she had to make goals for herself. It’s a pretty standard interview question! 😡 ), I get so low that it’s difficult to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I’m going to church today because I want to and also because it took me ten minutes to understand why so many folks on Twitter kept adding biblical quotes in their tweets (Duh! It’s Sunday! This is the day that the Lord has made!).

Things will get better and I will finish this novel. Maybe God’s just trying to teach me patience and humility. Maybe just endurance. Maybe something I’m not even able to see at this point. It doesn’t matter. I’ll be fine.

Ooh child…

 

Leave a Reply

